James Edward Johnson

my thoughts from right to left

When I see things like this on Comedy Central …

leave a comment »

From, Forward Newspaper Online, Meppy Chrismukkah!: “the phrase ‘Merry Chrismukkah’ seems to have caught on, tickling and puzzling linguists, marketers and demographers alike.”

When I see things like this on Comedy Central it is funny, but in other contexts, I am troubled. Although I would defend anyone’s free speech rights, the mixing of Jewish and Christian holidays is unfortunate. While I support a pluralistic society and diversity, certain things of a religious nature should not be blended in the interest of diversity. Could you imagine if Rosh Hashanah or Yom Kippur were blended into a Christian holiday? How about Passover and Easter? I am a Jew partly because I am not a Christian. While I respect a Christian’s right to his or her beliefs, I personally find those beliefs to be a pagan contortion of Judaism, not an extension of Judaism. Consequently, any mixing of Christian and Jewish holidays damages the Jewish holidays and in my eyes, such celebrations risk blasphemy.

I would hope Christians would agree, especially on the so-called “Chrismukkah” idea. Jesus is the central figure in Christianity. Isn’t it degrading to Jesus that people blend an aspect of a faith that rejects him as the messiah into a day celebrating him?

Written by JamesEJ

Friday, December 3, 2004 at 3:40 pm

Posted in other

Leave a Reply

