James Edward Johnson

my thoughts from right to left

Matisyahu: The Hasidic Reggae Superstar in Iowa City

with one comment

So, I saw Matisyahu, The Hasidic Reggae Superstar, in Iowa City last night. I have to say that seeing a traditionally dressed Hasidic Jew busting out the rhymes reggae-style was quite a sight to see. Even so, he represents Jews and the Hasidic community well, demonstrating that a very religious Jew can integrate with secular society in ways one would not expect. With religious music set to pop, rock, rap or reggae, the fear is that the performer’s religious goals motivate the music more than his talent. This is not the case for Matisyahu. He is a skilled performer, who manages to weave his faith into his rhymes while keeping true to his musical talent. I had ordered his CD before I realized he was coming to town. I am glad I did. Usually I buy music with sounds I enjoy despite the lyrics. Matisyahu gives me music I can enjoy and lyrics I can celebrate.

I realize there is nothing explicitly libertarian about this post, but just observing the fact that a Hasidic Jew can perform quality reggae seems a bit libertarian to me. This is so because it demonstrates that innovation can be found in ways and places few would ever imagine.

Written by JamesEJ

Monday, January 31, 2005 at 10:21 am

Posted in other

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My boyfriend (from Pa) made me dicover this artist I like his music and I wish he could come to Europe, even though the situation here is very difficult because of the confusion that peopl make between the politics (us and israel) and religion.If u are interested about the situation of the jewish community here to hesitate to write to me.Nobody knows him here and I cant wait to tell my friends about it!!!Do u know where I can find the lyrics, I don’t understand English very well and I have to read the lyics to understand.ThxAiana:Geneva (french part of) Switzerland

    Aiana

    Thursday, April 28, 2005 at 5:29 am


Leave a Reply

