James Edward Johnson

my thoughts from right to left

Wrapping tefillin

with 5 comments

I began wrapping tefillin on Monday. It takes some effort to awaken oneself in order to properly daven first thing in the morning. However, it is worth it.

Usually, I might wake up, hit snooze a few times, take a shower, … until finally I had regained my consciousness. Davening in the morning compels me to be awake just moments after I arise from my slumber. It starts my day right and allows me to be directed as I begin my day. Hopefully, I’ll keep it up.

Written by JamesEJ

Wednesday, June 30, 2010 at 7:23 am

Posted in judaism

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. James,

    I’ll google this after I ask it in your blog, but do you recommend any websites or YouTube videos, which illustrate wrapping Tefillin for those of us, who aren’t so good at it. I’ve been to aish.com and other sites, which are more for the adept at wrapping Tefillin.

    I’ve got my kippah on 365 days/year now and I’ve thought of wearing Tzitzit, but I worry the latter would identify me too much with the Orthodoxy, not that that’s a bad thing, I just don’t want to offend or confuse.

    -Nate

    Nathan Kieso

    Wednesday, June 30, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  2. The site I prefer is http://www.davening.net/tefillin.html … my challenge, however, is that there appear to be quite a few minor variations in the actual binding. I have not chosen a specific tradition on this subject, and so I feel like there is some further investigation to do.

    JamesEJ

    Wednesday, June 30, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    • Thanks James! So along similar lines, as a Conservaform Jew, to tzitzit or not to tzitzit? Do you think people would take offense?

      Nathan Kieso

      Friday, July 2, 2010 at 12:42 pm

      • I would probably go the Sephardi route and tuck, so I wouldn’t really face that problem.

        JamesEJ

        Friday, July 2, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  3. I’ve been “Reforming” in California, so I think I’d go Sephardi rite, but I am from the Ashkenazi. I think next Pesach is going to be Sephardi for me. It’s easier than Iowa City to practice Pesach, according to Ashkenazi rite, but I still love beans, rice and corn as my staple foods. I’m kind of showing someone the ropes of the Tribe, so doing things Sephardi rite is easier and less austere than showing them the Ashkenazi rite. So, back at another question, as a Conservaform Jew, of Ashkenazi roots, to Ashkenaz or to Sephard?

    Nathan Kieso

    Saturday, July 3, 2010 at 10:51 am


Leave a Reply

